The Union of India is the seventh largest country in the world covering an area of 32,87,590 square kilometers and it is an important country of south Asia.

South Asia has a total area of about 4.488 million sq. km out of which India has the largest area (3.287 sq. km). It occupies 73.2 % of total area. It is 4 times largest than Pakistan which is second largest in South Asia. India is 12 times largest that UK and 8 times largest than Japan. The mainland stretches from latitude 8°4' north to 37°6' north and from longitude 68°7' east to 97°25' east of Greenwhich. The latitudinal and longitudinal extent of the country is almost same in degrees i.e. about 30 degrees.

The southernmost point in Indian Territory, (in Great Nicobar Islands) is the Indira Point (6°45' ), while Kanyakumari, also known as Cape Comorin, is the southernmost point of Indian mainland. The country thus lies wholly in the northern and eastern hemispheres.

The 82°30' E longitude is taken as Standard Time Meridian of India, as it passes through the middle of India (from Naini, near Allahabad.) Hence Naini, Near Allahabad is the Standard Time of India.

The country is of a vast size and measures about 3,214 kilometers from north to south and about 2,933 kilometers from west to east.

Indian Standard Time:- GMT +05:30

Telephone Country Code:- +91

Coastline: 7,516.6 km encompassing the mainland, Lakshadweep Islands, and the Andaman & Nicobar Islands.